Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

level caps possible...?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blacklight_Studios
Expert of the third person...




Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:23 am    Post subject: level caps possible...? Reply with quote

another step in my takeover of the help forum. Raspberry!

I was wondering if there's a possibility of a level cap for the engine, in that I could force a level to be the level cap until a specific event occurs, unlocking the rest of the levels. The Idea is to have a tutorial level in my game that holds the level cap, then when you get to the main plot and out of the tutorial map, the cap is lifted, reverting to the original level 99 cap.

I may be thinking too advanced for the current limitations for the engine. If so, let me know.
_________________
Current project progress:

Lost in the Dark(Primary Project): 1%

Kingdom Hearts Collaborative Project: 0.05%
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mswguest
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can accomplish this by having all enemies in that area give 0 EXP, and making new copies of them with rewards once the player completes the 'tutorial'.

But the general answer to your question is no, there is no simple way to enforce a level cap for heroes.
Back to top
Camdog




Joined: 08 Aug 2003
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could accomplish this through plotscripting as well. If you set a script as an instead of battle script, it will be passed the formation number (and the formation set number, though you don't need that), so you could add experience in the plotscript as opposed in the enemy data.

Here's an example in hamsterspeak-like pseudo-code:

Code:


script, add capped experience, exp, begin
  var(i)

  for(i = 0, i < 3, i++) do(
    if (total experience(i) < level cap or level not capped) give experience(i, exp)
  )
end

script, instead of battle script, form, set, begin
  if (fight formation(form)) then(
    if (form == 1) then (add capped experience(100))
    if (form == 2) then (add capped experience(450))
    #etc...
  )
end


(The syntax is almost certainly wrong; I haven't written hamsterspeak in a while. You get the general idea, though)

There are a couple of limitations to this, of course. You have to set all the enemy exp rewards to 0 and then write out the worth of each formation in your script by hand, and players won't see the exp they've gained or level ups in battle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TMC added support for a level cap in the latest nightly builds. You can find it under the stat caps menu in the general game data menu. There are also plotscripting commands to get and set it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blacklight_Studios
Expert of the third person...




Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you post a sample script, James? I'm not sure how that would go about doing it, but I'm guessing you would use the "stat cap" command set?
_________________
Current project progress:

Lost in the Dark(Primary Project): 1%

Kingdom Hearts Collaborative Project: 0.05%
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

'getlevelcap' and 'setlevelcap'

Example:
Code:
plotscript, set level cap to 10, begin
  set level cap (10)
end


Camdog's approach is not too bad. You can improve it by computing the total experience gain from each battle with a script then temporarily setting the enemies to give 0 experience, instead of working it all out manually.
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP! All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group