Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

A Big Thank You. And Introducing My New Studio: Wild Gamut!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Andrew-David

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:00 am    Post subject: A Big Thank You. And Introducing My New Studio: Wild Gamut! Reply with quote

Hey everyone!

So, OHRRPGCE is the reason I work in the game development industry today. I discovered it when I was only 10 years old (18 years ago!) and I've been making games ever since. Some of you may know the development and publishing studio, MADSOFT Games, that I founded in 2008 (I used "MADSOFT" as my username on here way before I founded that though!). But I've also worked at various other studios including EA Games, Ubisoft, and Juicy Beast thanks to that experience.

I switched to working at MADSOFT Games full-time back in 2012 and grew the studio exponentially after moving it to Edmonton, Alberta. We built up the game development industry there, founded several events, fostered growth in the indie community with our advocacy group and gam jams, worked with schools and existing local studios to make sure developers stayed in the city after graduating, and a lot of new indie studios came to be thanks to us. So you are not only responsible for my own career, but also indirectly responsible for all the good we've done for the industry and community in Edmonton.

I've also done a ton of talks and been on a lot of panels at conventions. And whenever I'm asked how I got into game development at those panels, I always mention OHRRPGCE. I wouldn't be where I am today if it weren't for this engine and the Castle Paradox community.