Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

Advise to update ennemies formation on a map!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bis_senchi




Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 460
Location: Reims, France

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:11 am    Post subject: Advise to update ennemies formation on a map! Reply with quote

I would like to update the ennemies formation on my maps using plotscripting.

At the beginning, I was thinking placing many formation set (some with very weak ennemies, some other a bit more strong and so on) but you can have only one ennemie formation set for a given x,y,z location

I have the beginning of the solution : when the main hero would arrive
on the map there would be a script in the autorun map,
that would check the hero level (using the command "get hero level (who)" )

The problem is what should I put next?

I was thinking of modifing ennemies stats and apperance (and why not the background in the same time) but I may be wrong

Has somoene already done this? What would be the most convenient way according to you?
_________________
It's time to make games!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
TwinHamster
♫ Furious souls, burn eternally! ♫




Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You would probably want to use a 'Instead of Battle Script' if scaling formations are what you're after.

Your hero's level would be called up, and a random formation from a pre-made set of appropriate difficulty would be used for the fight.

Or, modifying each enemy's stats and appearances would also be a great way to do this.
(I wasn't even aware you could do this until checking the dictionary just now)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TwinHamster wrote:
Or, modifying each enemy's stats and appearances would also be a great way to do this.
(I wasn't even aware you could do this until checking the dictionary just now)


Grumble... I kinda regret that feature. it is going to be hell for backwards compatibility someday :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Not to mention that the enemy modifying commands are very messy; several mistakes were made.


It's also possible to modify enemy formations, but that's probably a much harder avenue.

There's probably two easy ways of doing this: an instead of battle script which throws a different formation/formation set depending on the hero level, or by modifiying formation sets to include harder formations.
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bis_senchi




Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 460
Location: Reims, France

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:35 am    Post subject: Great idea! Reply with quote

The Mad Cacti wrote:
instead of battle script which throws a different formation/formation set depending on the hero level, or by modifiying formation sets to include harder formations.


That's a great idea! What should we put in the instead of battle script?
Here's a proposition

Code:

# instead of battle script for map2
script, updating ennemies map2, begin

suspend player #useful here?

variable (main hero level) # find hero level and store it in a variable
set variable (main hero level, get hero level)

if (main hero level == 13) then, begin # if main hero is at level 13 then, begin

# what commands do we need here?

end
resume player
end #end of the script
#---------------------------------------------------




One of the problem with the code above is that when the main hero will get to level 14 f won't word anymore and the ennemies formation set will become weaks again.


There is another important thing to take on account is that the player can come to manipulate one of the hero's friend! If we made an article, we'll need to explain that it is important to give the same current level fighting skills when a new hero appears else, if the newbie stays alone (for some reasons) the player will kill him easily. It also important that only hero's position has to be taken in account (not the hero's name)

Let's says that the teams members are at level 18 and a newbie arrived. (He is at level 1 or 0) Because of the instead of battle script, the formation are updates and ennemies can be killed only by hero of level (18 or more). Then the new hero stay alone: he'll certainly killed on battle!

Anyway let's keep on thinking above this all together and I'm sure we'll find a solution!
_________________
It's time to make games!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ringthehat
custom title




Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Location: Midwestern wastelands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
One of the problem with the code above is that when the main hero will get to level 14 f won't word anymore and the ennemies formation set will become weaks again.


You could use if statements to establish a range of different formation posibilities, ie

Code:

 if(hero levels << 7)
  then(
      #code that determines low level enemies encountered
    )
    else(
      if(hero levels << 16)
      then(
        #code that determines mid level enemies encountered
      )
      else(
        #etc, or the most powerful enemy formations player can encounter
      )
    )
  )


You can always scan through the current players in the party and come up with a way to determine the party's overall threat to enemies (such as their cumulative level, or just average level, or whatevs), then use that number to either pick from a collection of prefabricated enemy formations, or play around with adding enemysto lower formations.

for reference:
http://gilgamesh.hamsterrepublic.com/wiki/ohrrpgce/index.php/Plot:Fight_formation
http://gilgamesh.hamsterrepublic.com/wiki/ohrrpgce/index.php/Plot:Add_enemy_to_formation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer




Joined: 22 Feb 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Hamster Republic (Southern California Enclave)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:14 am    Post subject: Re: Great idea! Reply with quote

Code:

suspend player #useful here?


No, not useful there. "suspend player" is never needed in a script that has no "wait" commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Spoon Weaver




Joined: 18 Nov 2008
Posts: 421
Location: @home

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only problem I see with the code, is basically that it refers to only 1 hero. but if thats not a problem then I guess it's fine. Here's the improvements that I think will help.


Code:



plotscript, updating enemies map2, begin

#main hero level became  mhl  for simplicity
variable (mhl)
set variable (mhl, get hero level (0))

if (mhl<< 5) then, begin
fight formation (random formation (1))
end

if (mhl >= 5, and, mhl<< 10) then, begin
fight formation (random formation (2))
end

if (mhl >= 10, and, mhl<< 15) then, begin
fight formation (random formation (3))
end

if (mhl >= 15, and, mhl<< 20) then, begin
fight formation (random formation (4))
end

if (mhl >= 20) then, begin
fight formation (random formation (5))
end

end


the numbers will have to be changed to fit your need. but other then that it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bis_senchi




Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 460
Location: Reims, France

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:58 pm    Post subject: That's it! But guess what?! I've got another problem! Reply with quote

This code will be usefull! And we us hero(0) which means that if the player came to play with a different hero placed first in the party (a futur friend)
the fight formations will be adapted and be able to fight!

Thanks a lot as always! Raspberry! Raspberry! Raspberry!

But guess what? I've got another problem! Big grin

I've started again to work on my YuGiOh game. You may remember that you helped me to implement the D key thanks to which the Npc could say something different from what they says with a text box.

You especially helped me with the switch. Here's the script


Code:



script, duelmodemap6, begin

suspend player
suspend npcs

variable (MyDirect, Xcheck, Ycheck)
MyDirect:= hero direction (me)
Xcheck:= heroX (me)
Ycheck:= heroY (me)

  switch (hero direction (me)) do, begin
  case (north) do ( Ycheck -= 1)
  case (south) do ( Ycheck += 1)
  case (left) do ( Xcheck -= 1)
  case (right) do ( Xcheck += 1)
  end
 
  switch (get NPC ID (NPC at spot (Xcheck, Ycheck)) ) do, begin
 
  case(2) do , begin  # npc2 is yugi
  set npc direction (2,(MyDirect+2,mod,4))
  suspend box advance
  suspend npcs
  show text box (61)
  wait for key (any key)
  while (key is pressed (key:d)==true) do, begin 
  advance text box
  wait(1)
  resume box advance
  resume npcs
  end, else, begin #if the key is not d then... HSPEAK COMPLAINS HERE
  set tag (tag: duelmodeends, on)
  set tag (tag: dsecond, on)
  wait (1)
  end #end while key is pressed
  end #end for case
 
   
  case(5) do, begin # npc5 is Sugoroku Muto
  set npc direction (5, (MyDirect+2,mod,4))
  suspend box advance
  show text box (83)
  wait for key (any key)
  while ( key is pressed (key:d)==true) do, begin
  advance text box
  wait(1)
  resume box advance
  resume npcs
  end, else, begin #if the key is not d then...
  set tag (tag: duelmodeends, on)
  set tag (tag:dsecond, on) 
  wait (1)
  end #end while key is pressed
  end
 
  case(9) do, begin # npc9 is Kaiba
  set npc direction (9, (MyDirect+2,mod,4))
  suspend box advance
  suspend npcs
  show text box (78)
  wait for key (any key)
  while ( key is pressed (key:d)==true) do, begin
  advance text box
  wait(1)
  resume box advance
  resume npcs
  end, else, begin #if the key is not d then...
  set tag (tag: duelmodeends, on)
  set tag (tag:dsecond, on) 
  wait (1)
  end #end while key is pressed
  end #end for case
 
  case(14) do, begin # npc14 is Mai
  set npc direction (14, (MyDirect+2,mod,4))
  suspend box advance
  show text box (74)
  wait for key (any key)
  while ( key is pressed (key:d)==true) do, begin
  advance text box
  wait(1)
  resume box advance
  resume npcs
  end, else, begin #if the key is not d then...
  set tag (tag: duelmodeends, on)
  set tag (tag:dsecond, on) 
  wait (1)
  end #end while key is pressed
  end
 
  case(15) do, begin # npc15 is Anzu
  set npc direction (15, (MyDirect+2,mod,4))
  show text box (75)
  wait for key (any key)
  while ( key is pressed (key:d)==true) do, begin
  advance text box
  wait(1)
  resume box advance
  resume npcs
  end, else, begin #if the key is not d then...
  set tag (tag: duelmodeends, on)
  set tag (tag:dsecond, on) 
  wait (1)
  end #end while key is pressed
  end 
 
  end #end of the switch
 
 #le tag ci-dessus évite que le npc recommence a marcher
 if (check tag(tag: duelmodeends)==on) then, begin
 resume player  #if space has been previously pressed then...
 wait(1)
   
 end, else, begin
 resume player #if nothing happens then...
 resume npcs
 set tag (tag:dsecond, off) 
 end
   
end #end of the plotscript

#---------------------------------------------------------------------


My problem is the following : when hspeak.exe arrived at line 764 I've got the following message

Hspeak.exe wrote:

if should be follow an if or then


Could somoene help me to find what to put instead without changing anything when the runs (it ran perfectly in the previous tests) As I put in the command the else, begin have an important role to play : it tells what to do when d is not press (most of time it's the space bar)


Thanks a million for the script that updates battles. I will write an article when I'll have some free time! Good luck!
_________________
It's time to make games!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
ringthehat
custom title




Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Location: Midwestern wastelands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try this syntax instead:

Code:
 #le tag ci-dessus évite que le npc recommence a marcher
 if (check tag(tag: duelmodeends)==on) then(
   resume player  #if space has been previously pressed then...
   wait(1)
   
 )
 else(
   resume player #if nothing happens then...
   resume npcs
   set tag (tag:dsecond, off)
 )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what your code looks like:

Code:
  set npc direction (2,(MyDirect+2,mod,4))
  suspend box advance
  suspend npcs
  show text box (61)
  wait for key (any key)
  while (key is pressed (key:d)==true) do, begin
    advance text box
    wait(1)
    resume box advance
    resume npcs
  end, else, begin #if the key is not d then... HSPEAK COMPLAINS HERE
    set tag (tag: duelmodeends, on)
    set tag (tag: dsecond, on)
    wait (1)
  end #end while key is pressed


Why are you using while? That should be an if.
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bis_senchi




Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 460
Location: Reims, France

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:28 pm    Post subject: This time this is a question about strings Reply with quote

Thanks! The script works perfectly now! I just had to replace while(s) and do(s) by if(s) and then. I wonder how I went to put while in this script....

may be an old confusion from implementing new behaviour for the keys. Anyway... I'm learning how strings works by now. I tried the example given by James with slight modifications.

Here is is again

Code:

1="Hello "
get hero name (2, hero:bob)

1 $+ 2

show string (1) #this will show the string "Hello <name>", depending on the name of the hero


My question is the following : how can I get the same effect (make appear hello and the name of current hero in slot 2 using a text box with ${S1} (strings) in it.

Thanks for the information!
_________________
It's time to make games!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm? Write "${S1}" in a textbox of course. But in that case it's a lot easier to use the "${H#}" tag to embed the name of hero id #.
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bis_senchi




Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 460
Location: Reims, France

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:50 am    Post subject: Well I've tried to Reply with quote

Well I've tried to replace show string by a text box with ${S1} in it but when I try to compile the hss file

I've got the message "Expected script, function or flow control but found an expression with value 1. It will do nothing here.

So? Could somoene help me how to modify the script?
$1 "hello" is fine. Hello appears in the text box but the problem is for the hero's name

Good luck!
_________________
It's time to make games!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
TMC
On the Verge of Insanity




Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 3240
Location: Matakana

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the code you posted,
Code:
1="Hello "
you forgot the $ before 1.
_________________
"It is so great it is insanely great."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> HELP! All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group