Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

How big is too big?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
8bit
Clutcher of toes.

Location: In the thoughts and dreams of all the world's children.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:07 pm    Post subject: How big is too big? Reply with quote

So, I've been working on my game for a couple months now and it is getting down right HUGE. I am using mp3s for the music and sound effects. There are many different environments and each one has it's own music. Each one has its own battle background as well. I am also using backgrounds for various 'cut scenes' in the game, too. I'm only a quarter of the way through and this file is already HUGE. How big is too big? Would it deter anyone from downloading my game? I just wanted to get some opinions...
Bob the Hamster
OHRRPGCE Developer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 12:22 pm    Post subject: Re: How big is too big? Reply with quote

"Too big" is subjective. it depends on who is downloading it.

Some question:

1) How big is your RPG file? How many megabytes?

2) How big is it after you put it in a ZIP file? Although zipping will have no effect on your music and sound effects, it will shrink your backdrops nicely.

3) What compression level do you use when converting your MP3 files into OGG format when you import them?
J.A.R.S.
In umbram deo, ex nihilo...

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

people play games that need 3 dvds nowadays, but the truth is they expect fun out of the box. It is not always a matter of graphical appeal so I'd say you'd have to base your idea of big on the quality of the game itself.
Rya.Reisender
Snippy