Castle Paradox Forum Index Castle Paradox

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Gamelist   Review List   Song List   All Journals   Site Stats   Search Gamelist   IRC Chat Room

Multi-Level City

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> The Arcade
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Laven Atries
Starmaster




Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:15 am    Post subject: Multi-Level City Reply with quote

Okay, after reading the thread about world maps, and some stuff about cities being so small and all that, I decided that my major city could do with some embiggening (yes that is a word, at least according to Jebidiah Springfield Big grin ) And then it hit me that it would be really cool to make a city where you could walk on the streets and also the rooftops. It'd be great for hidden items as well as, say, an escape mission or something. The only problem is that I'm having some problems with figuring out how to make it possible for a person to walk across an archway from the rooftops, but go under it from the street level. If any of you have any ideas on how I might accomplish this, please share them. I'd greatly appreciate any help you can offer me. Thanks!

-Laven Atries
_________________
Oro?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncommon
His legend will never die




Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2503

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plotscripting. There are commands to change wallmapping (including whether a tile is overhead or not). I can't give you a script example right now, but I can tell you there is one in Wandering Hamster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Me
HI.




Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 870
Location: MY CUSTOM TITLE CAME BACK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Major NPC and plotscripting madskillz.

Set NPCs surrounding your bridge and have them set off a script that changes the wallmap(command: Write Pass Block) and either suspends or enables the overlay(command: Suspend/Resume Overlay). Use tags to determine whether you are on the roof or on the ground.

Something like this should appear in my game The City (don't look for it, there's no demo yet), if I ever finish it.

I hearby copyright this idea. Anyone using it must give me proper credit.
Kidding.
_________________
UP DOWN UP DOWN LEFT LEFT RIGHT RIGHT A B START
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Me
HI.




Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 870
Location: MY CUSTOM TITLE CAME BACK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn you, Lone Chimaera. You got to it first.

By the way, I agree that your name is spelled correctly.
_________________
UP DOWN UP DOWN LEFT LEFT RIGHT RIGHT A B START
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Laven Atries
Starmaster




Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, I was starting to think in that direction. I'll take those tips and see what I can do with it. But its probably going to be a royal pain trying to get everything perfect for the 4 maps that this city will be composed of. Oh well, a lot of the fun is trying to do things that are hard to do. Now, back to work I go!

-Laven Atries
_________________
Oro?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Me
HI.




Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 870
Location: MY CUSTOM TITLE CAME BACK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Ho, Hi Ho.
_________________
UP DOWN UP DOWN LEFT LEFT RIGHT RIGHT A B START
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Blazes Battles Inc.
I'm a chimp, not a




Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 505

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me wrote:
suspends or enables the overlay(command: Suspend/Resume Overlay.


You can set the overlay on or off using the pass block command. That way, there can still be some overhead tiles even above town, like if you came out from the back of a building onto the roof and you don't want the door to be in the middle of the roof.

Anyway, once you write down all the tile positions, it isn't very hard. I've used it in DC on one house, but it's purposely obvious how to get the stuff on top.
_________________
Preserve OHR history! Do it for the children!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Uncommon
His legend will never die




Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2503

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's the command I was referring to, write pass block (x,y,value).

James used it in Wandering Hamster to make it so that the bridge to Ixnelan (sp?) was under you when you walk on it, but over you when you pass it with the boat.

If I had a OHR-worthy computer, I'd write you a sample script, but I don't... Shrug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
MultiColoredWizard
Come back, baby!
The Breastmaster



Joined: 01 Feb 2003
Posts: 1232

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, TLC, it's more like this:

Code:
script,World Map Autorun,begin
 if (check tag(tag:vehicle loc flag))
 then(
  set tag(tag:vehicle loc flag,OFF)
  #set NPC position(2,ship X,ship Y)
  #set NPC position(3,baloon X,baloon Y)
 )else(
  set tag(tag:vehicle loc flag,ON)
  ship X:=NPC X(2)
  ship Y:=NPC Y(2)
  baloon X:=NPC X(3)
  baloon Y:=NPC Y(3)
 )
 tweak bridges
end
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncommon
His legend will never die




Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2503

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2003 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.

That script keeps the vehicles where you left them. It would not help you walk over an overhead tile. However, it does trigger a script called "tweak bridges" at the end. That would be the script that I'm referring to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Castle Paradox Forum Index -> The Arcade All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group